top of page
copyright Tom Liekens
MusicExposed2017-94
MusicExposed2017-77
MusicExposed2017-52
MusicExposed2017-7
MusicExposed2017-18
MusicExposed2017-35
MusicExposed2017-2
MusicExposed2017-85
MusicExposed2017-66
MusicExposed2017-50
MusicExposed2017-21
MusicExposed2017-8
Exposed Music

project in collaboration with Het Stadsmagazijn, coStA, Stormkop, ICP and District Antwerp

Inventive musicians, dancers, storytellers and illustrators are guests in Stormkop, a gigantic modernist warehouse on the Droogdokken, a stone's throw from the MAS 

The performances occupy the most fascinating spaces. Explore the warehouses, workshops, shower rooms and canteens where ship repairers were once busy.

The bar  quenches your thirst  in between performances.

In the folk kitchen  you can eat a delicious meal beforehand.

Curator Michaël Brijs (The Valerie Solanas, De Bronstige Bazooka's) is a jazz flutist, songwriter, composer and author. He makes music theater and experimental oratorios, and has a passion for Antwerp architecture.  

storm head  is an expressive haven for young and less young adventurers. A wild, surreal place where hands roll up, knees get dirty and your heart is thrown into disarray.  This atypical location breathes maritime heritage in a  industrial zone.

SPACES &  PERFORMANCE 

In the Steel Atelier  The Victory's

The Victory's is a gospel group  with Claudio Mayemba (Angola) as the driving force. The band consists of young people of various origins and brings contemporary gospel with influences of soul, pop, jazz, blues and afro.  On Exposed Music they sing a cappella in a cathedral of glass and steel.

In the Plasticarium  Jon Doe One and Stefanie Janssen

Eighteen shower cubicles where port staff used to wash themselves after a long day at work: now there is a lonely dripping sound. Jon Doe One and singer Stefanie Janssen (Netherlands) will work with soundscapes and siren singing.  

  • Jon Doe One (aka Hannes D'Hoine): electronica

  • Stefanie Janssen: soprano

 

In the galley  HAN  BENNINK, Thomas De Prins, Vincent Brijs and Alexander Wahba

Jazz drummer Han Bennink (Netherlands) is a living legend. Together with Misha Mengelberg, among others, he is one of the pioneers of European free jazz. He collaborated with American legends such as Eric Dolphy, Don Cherry and Lee Konitz.  On Exposed Music he plays in a line-up that has been put together especially for this occasion. It will be a unique experiment, where free jazz enters into a dialogue with street dance.

  • Han Bennink: drums

  • Vincent Brijs: sax

  • Thomas De Prins: piano

  • Alexander Wahba: dance  

 

In the Expedition Room Notches 

Sail along and immerse yourself in a world of wondrous goals. Dive, splash, swim and float... because everyone comes out of the water and the water comes out of everyone. An  narration  in  choral singing,  in  the  workplace  from adventurer-inventor  Fons Oerlemans,  That  of  his boatswain Kee Arens sailed around the world in a bottle.

  • Text and game: Silke Melis

  • Music: Notches (socio-artistic choral work)

  • Composition: Michaël Brijs and Tine Joris

 

In the Blue Room Bert Lezy, Lies Van Gasse, Jirka De Preter and Ikram Aoulad

Ikram Aoulad reads harbor prose by Paul Van Ostaijen. Three live artists make interactive graphics on one big screen and create a visual universe around Van Ostaijen's story. A jam session, but without music.

After party with DJ  Shoogar Combo

Presentation: Andy Fierens

bottom of page

top of page
copyright Tom Liekens
MusicExposed2017-94
MusicExposed2017-77
MusicExposed2017-52
MusicExposed2017-7
MusicExposed2017-18
MusicExposed2017-35
MusicExposed2017-2
MusicExposed2017-85
MusicExposed2017-66
MusicExposed2017-50
MusicExposed2017-21
MusicExposed2017-8
Musique exposée

projet en collaboration avec Het Stadsmagazijn, coStA, Stormkop, ICP et District Antwerp

Musiciens inventifs, danseurs, conteurs et illustrateurs sont invités à Stormkop, un gigantesque entrepôt moderniste sur le Droogdokken, à deux pas du MAS 

Les performances occupent les espaces les plus fascinants. Explorez les entrepôts, les ateliers, les salles de douche et les cantines où les réparateurs navals étaient autrefois occupés.

Le bar  étanche ta soif  entre les représentations.

Dans la cuisine populaire  vous pouvez manger un délicieux repas à l'avance.

Le commissaire Michaël Brijs (The Valerie Solanas, De Bronstige Bazooka's) est flûtiste de jazz, auteur-compositeur, compositeur et auteur. Il fait du théâtre musical et des oratorios expérimentaux, et se passionne pour l'architecture anversoise.  

tête de tempête  est un havre d'expression pour les aventuriers jeunes et moins jeunes. Un endroit sauvage et surréaliste où les mains se roulent, les genoux se salissent et votre cœur est bouleversé.  Ce lieu atypique respire le patrimoine maritime dans un  zone industrielle.

LES ESPACES &  PERFORMANCE 

Dans l'atelier d'acier  La Victoire

The Victory's est un groupe de gospel  avec Claudio Mayemba (Angola) comme moteur. Le groupe est composé de jeunes d'origines diverses et apporte du gospel contemporain aux influences soul, pop, jazz, blues et afro.  Sur Exposed Music, ils chantent a cappella dans une cathédrale de verre et d'acier.

Dans le Plasticarium  Jon Doe One et Stefanie Janssen

Dix-huit cabines de douche où le personnel du port se lavait après une longue journée de travail : maintenant, il y a un bruit de gouttes solitaires. Jon Doe One et la chanteuse Stefanie Janssen (Pays-Bas) travailleront avec des paysages sonores et des chants de sirène.  

  • Jon Doe One (alias Hannes D'Hoine) : électro

  • Stefanie Janssen : soprano

 

Dans la galère  HAN  BENNINK, Thomas De Prins, Vincent Brijs et Alexander Wahba

Le batteur de jazz Han Bennink (Pays-Bas) est une légende vivante. Avec Misha Mengelberg, entre autres, il est l'un des pionniers du free jazz européen. Il a collaboré avec des légendes américaines telles qu'Eric Dolphy, Don Cherry et Lee Konitz.  Sur Exposed Music, il joue dans un line-up spécialement constitué pour cette occasion. Ce sera une expérience unique, où le free jazz entre en dialogue avec la street dance.

  • Han Bennink : batterie

  • Vincent Brijs : saxophoniste

  • Thomas De Prins : piano

  • Alexandre Wahba : danse  

 

Dans les encoches de la salle d'expédition 

Naviguez et plongez dans un monde d'objectifs merveilleux. Plongez, éclaboussez, nagez et flottez... parce que tout le monde sort de l'eau et l'eau sort de tout le monde. Une  narration  dans  chant choral,  dans  les  lieu de travail  de l'aventurier-inventeur  Fons Oerlemans,  Cette  de  son maître d'équipage Kee Arens a fait le tour du monde en bouteille.

  • Texte et jeu : Silke Melis

  • Musique : Notches (œuvre chorale socio-artistique)

  • Composition : Michaël Brijs et Tine Joris

 

Dans la Chambre Bleue Bert Lezy, Lies Van Gasse, Jirka De Preter et Ikram Aoulad

Ikram Aoulad lit la prose portuaire de Paul Van Ostaijen. Trois artistes en direct créent des graphiques interactifs sur un grand écran et créent un univers visuel autour de l'histoire de Van Ostaijen. Une jam session, mais sans musique.

After party avec DJ  Combo Shoogar

Présentation : Andy Fierens

bottom of page